Canadian Super Group THIRD ION Announce July Release for Sophomore Album ‘Biolith’

Third Ion

Canadian Progressive Metal Outfit THIRD ION featuring former members of THE DEVIN TOWNSEND BAND, INTO ETERNITY, and ANNIHILATOR have announced the July 8 release of sophomore album Biolith. The new album will be released on Glasstone Records and is the first to feature ex-ANNIHILATOR vocalist Dave Padden.

Check out the Biolith teaser video at this location

Padden’s years of experience with ANNIHILATOR, and the many records on which he has appeared, has already proven to be a major asset, and has brought the band to a new level of space-time supremacy. THIRD ION once again tapped artist Harley K at Necrographix to mastermind the artwork for Biolith, and to bring the story of the 10-minute, epic title track to life.

In other THIRD ION  news, the band has been nominated for the “Metal/Hard Music
Artist of the Year” category at the 2016 Western Canadian Music Awards.

Biolith Track List:
1. State of Flux
2. Cosmic Delusion
3. Biolith
4. Status Undetermined
5. Illogical
6. Lesson Burned
7. Temporal Divide
8. Corpus Solaris

Third Ion is the product of a mutual love of prog, video games, and science. Formed in 2014 and spread across Canada, the band finished their first full length record by the end of the year; 13/8Bit was released worldwide on Glasstone Records, May 25 2015.
Peaking at #14 on iTunes Metal Charts, 13/8Bit was fully embraced by press across the globe, receiving 9/10 at, 8.5/10 in Aardshock Magazine, as well as featured streams at, and Metal Hammer Norway. Unfortunately, shortly after the release of 13/8Bit, singer Tyler Gilbert decided to leave the band to continue focusing on his own original music and career. The band finished writing the follow-up record while on the hunt for a replacement through the end of the year.
In January of 2016, Third Ion announced that the mighty Dave Padden had stepped in, and has recorded all the vocals for their sophomore album Biolith, due July 8 2016 on Glasstone Records.


Justin Bender – Guitar

Aaron Edgar – Drums

Mike Young – Bass

Dave Padden – Vocals


About KarenS

Photographer, lover of books and movies. Can normally be found walking the dog in the rain.
%d bloggers like this: