Following the February release of their new album, ‘Look Alive’, the acclaimed Austin, Texas-based rock duo Black Pistol Fire has just issued a video for its opening song and title track, the lyric of which is about a vintage car named ‘Psycho 69’.

Directed by Pooneh Ghana, the clip revolves around a character fantasising about leaving behind everything they have ever known and driving off in pursuit of the great unknown. As his journey progresses, he heads down a dark highway and supernatural forces begin to escalate around the car as he transitions to a different path in his life and into a new world.

‘Look Alive’ is being released as a single in its own right and has a UK impact date of 30th April 2021.

Black Pistol Fire – Look Alive (Official Music Video)

Black Pistol Fire is the Austin, Texas-based duo of vocalist/guitarist Kevin McKeown and drummer/bass synth player Eric Owen. Originally from Toronto, they have spent almost a decade building a dedicated fanbase and refining their singular two-man approach, outfitting their explosive, impassioned rock n roll with a soundscape that has become more expansive and cinematic over time.

BPF has spent the last year drip-feeding a handful of singles that include the bluesy, slow-burning powerhouse ‘Hope In Hell’, the doomy, stomping ‘Black Halo’, the R&B-inflected ‘Temper Temper’ and the coiled, psychedelia-laced ‘Level’. These are all included on ‘Look Alive’, their brand new album. Helmed by the duo with co-producer/engineer Jacob Sciba (Gary Clark Jr, Gov’t Mule, Warren Haynes) and mixer Vance Powell (White Stripes, Raconteurs, Chris Stapleton), it reflects influences that range from Chuck Berry to Nirvana, and Arctic Monkeys to G-Funk.

‘Look Alive’ has been receiving rave reviews worldwide and is being recognised for its far-reaching sonic landscape. Credit this in part to BPF’s natural progression. “When we first started out I had one guitar and one guitar pedal, and Eric had his drums and a green Dodge Neon – that was it,” says McKeown. “So, experimentation was just not an option.” Since then, things have changed. McKeown’s pedal collection – and the resulting range of sounds he is capable of producing with it – is an awe-inspiring thing, for one, while Owen has moved beyond a mere acoustic kit to add bass synth, electronic drums and other colours to the mix.

BPF released five albums between 2012 and 2017 that contain songs streamed in their millions, with ‘Suffocation Blues’ from their self-titled 2015 debut earning 25 million spins on Spotify alone. They are also revered for their incendiary live shows that are a blend of garage punk and blues rock and have wowed crowds from the smallest, sweatiest out-of-the-way backwaters to the massive stages of festivals like Lollapalooza, bringing their blistering, brain-expanding rock n roll to audiences both devoted and unsuspecting and laying it all on the line, every single time.

1  Look Alive
2  Pick Your Poison
3  Holdin’ Up
4  Never Enough
5  Wildfire
6  Hope In Hell
7  Black Halo
8  Temper Temper
9  Level
10  Always On My Mind
11  Beyond The Blue

Kevin McKeown – vocals, guitar
Eric Owen – drums, bass synth

About Alex English

%d bloggers like this: