Home / News / Press Release / DEVILDRIVER Reveal ‘Copperhead Road’ Cover

DEVILDRIVER Reveal ‘Copperhead Road’ Cover

DEVILDRIVER release their new album of outlaw country-gone-metal anthems, Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1, via Napalm Records this coming Friday 6th July 2018.  After dropping their potent cover of outlaw classic ‘Ghost Riders in the Sky’, DEVILDRIVER are following up with yet another track cut from Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1, ‘Copperhead Road’, featuring 36 Crazyfists vocalist Brock Lindow.  Listen to the song via a brand new lyric video here: https://youtu.be/SJaNrrL2oXo.   Album pre-orders are available now in multiple physical and digital/streaming formats via http://smarturl.it/OutlawsTilTheEnd.

 DEVILDRIVER frontman Dez Fafara says, “I have always loved this story of running moonshine and running from the cops, and having Brock on this song was a smart move as his unique voice is absolutely perfect for it.  I’m proud to have him on this record!”

Track guest Brock Lindow of 36 Crazyfists adds, “I’m grateful to be included in the barnburner that is Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1! ‘Copperhead Road’ was always a heavy song with a great story that encompasses all things ‘outlaw’, but DEVILDRIVER ups the ante on this one and puts the pedal to Metal with their vision of the legendary jam. It was a tremendous honor to sing with Dez and the boys on this monster record!”

Check out DEVILDRIVER’s series of Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 commentary videos, featuring interviews with the band and album guests regarding various topics around outlaw country and recording the album.  Watch here:

 – “Intro to Outlaw Country”: https://youtu.be/hbcl74deLcY

– “Is This a Country Album?”: https://youtu.be/gpQofOshhpQ

– “The Guests”: https://youtu.be/1V24CJ8NqQY

– “The Lyrics”: https://youtu.be/C2j8ooDiGFo

– “The Cash Cabin”: https://youtu.be/mRyWk3d0w5w

– “Playing These Songs Live”: https://youtu.be/55ZpjSbxwqM

Hear the currently released singles from Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1:

– ‘Country Heroes’ featuring Hank3https://youtu.be/lpm9QrPKfWE

– ‘Ghost Riders in the Sky’ featuring John Carter Cash (son of country music legend Johnny Cash), Ana Cristina Cash, and Lamb of God vocalist Randy Blythe:

 From the opening seconds of Hank3’s ‘Country Heroes’ onward, Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 is one of the most invigorating records the band have made to date.  More importantly, these evocative, irresistible songs have all been wholly rebuilt from the ground up, powered by the classic DEVILDRIVER sound and embellished with Fafara’s unmistakable feral roar. Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 was produced, mixed and recorded with Steve Evetts (Dillinger Escape Plan, Every Time I Die, Sepultura, The Cure), and co-produced by DevilDriver guitarist Mike Spreitzer.

See below for a full track listing and featured guests.

DEVILDRIVER Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 track listing:

1. “Country Heroes”
Written by Hank Williams III
Performed by Hank3 & Dez Fafara

2. “Whiskey River”
Written by Johnny Bush and Paul Stroud; recorded by Willie Nelson
Performed by Randy Blythe, Mark Morton of Lamb of God & Dez Fafara

3. “Outlaw Man”
Written by David Blue; recorded by the Eagles
Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of DEVILDRIVER

4. “Ghost Riders in the Sky”
Written by Stan Jones
Performed by John Carter Cash, Ana Cristina Cash, Randy Blythe & Dez Fafara

5. “I’m the Only Hell (Mama Ever Raised)”
Written by Bobby Bobby Borchers, Wayne Kemp, Mack Vickery; recorded by Johnny Paycheck
Performed by Dez Fafara & DEVILDRIVER

6. “If Drinking Don’t Kill Me (Her Memory Will)”
Written by Harlan Sanders, Rick Beresford; recorded by George Jones
Performed by Wednesday13 & Dez Fafara

7. “The Man Comes Around”
Written by Johnny Cash
Performed by Lee Ving of Fear & Dez Fafara

8. “A Thousand Miles From Nowhere”
Written by Dwight Yoakam
Performed by Dez Fafara & Neal Tiemann of DEVILDRIVER

9. “Copperhead Road”
Written by Steve Earle
Performed by Brock Lindow of 36 Crazyfists & Dez Fafara

10. “Dad’s Gonna Kill Me”
Written by Richard Thompson
Performed by Burton C. Bell of Fear Factory & Dez Fafara

11. “A Country Boy Can Survive”
Written by Hank Williams Jr.
Performed by Dez Fafara & DEVILDRIVER

Still charging forward, proudly against the grain and on the form of their lives, DEVILDRIVER have never made a record like Outlaws ‘Til The End: Vol. 1 before. But then, nor has anyone else. The perfect marriage of badass country grit and neck-wrecking groove metal supremacy, it’s a pistol-packing game-changer delivered by true heavy metal outlaws.

DEVILDRIVER are set to play Bloodstock Festival in Burton-on-Trent, Derbyshire on Sunday 12th August – www.bloodstock.uk.com.







Dez Fafara – Vocals

Mike Spreitzer – Guitar

Neal Tiemann – Guitar

Diego Ibarra – Bass

Austin D’Amond – Drums

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.