Goodnight Wednesday – The American nightmare

goodnight wednesday - the american nightmareGoodnight Wednesday are a punk rock band who come from Akron, Ohio.  The band was formed in 2006 and “The American nightmare” is the band’s latest release.
One other important fact – they’re a Christian band.  Now before you all run off to read another review on the basis that all christian rock is rubbish, I should point out that the band are quite different to almost all “Christian” bands in that they have a pop-punk sound rather than a lightweight rock sound..  OK they still have preachy lyrics, but with the pop-punk music it’s easier to ignore the overly preachy lyrics and just enjoy the music.

It’s not bad actually – if you replaced the Christian lyrics with more normal ones then I’d probably enjoy listening to the album – particularly the standout track “Twilight in America”, but sadly the lyrics on the album drop it down a couple of points.

If you’re a fan of Christian rock type lyrics and like pop-punk then this album is probably for you.  If however you dislike lyrics that try and preach at you then you’ll want to give this one a miss.

Rating: 6/10

‘The American nightmare’ is out now.

Track listing:

1. Prologue
2. New world odor
3. Let’s kill our kids
4. God vs politics
5. Amy of the living dead
6. Mouth like an open grave
7. The ballad of Tatty Higgins
8. Twilight in America
9. Oroku Saki (The reckoning)
10. Worth dying for
11. Standing in the prodigal sun
12. The American nightmare

Goodnight Wednesday are:

Ryan Wednesday – Vocals & Guitar
Samuel Wednesday – Guitar
Alex Wednesday – Bass
DJ Wednesday – Drums

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.
%d bloggers like this: