GRAHAM BONNET BAND : ‘Live In Tokyo 2017’

New live album out 12.07.19 CD+DVD / CD [Frontiers]
Pre-order link
Includes SAMURAI live video

“In March 2017, the Graham Bonnet Band went to Japan for our first headline dates as GBB. We also did a full Alcatrazz set that same night featuring Gary Shea, which was released last year by Frontiers as ‘Parole Denied’ and included a bonus album of some Alcatrazz rarities. For the GBB part of the show, we put together a setlist covering the main eras of my career. It was a great night and this live album and video look fantastic. I’d say it’s the definitive Graham Bonnet Band live/video release. Great light show, visuals and sound. This was and is intended to be a companion piece to ‘Parole Denied’. As a bonus, we have included a revised studio version of the GBB song ‘The Crying Chair’.” Graham Bonnet On March 16th 2017 the Graham Bonnet Band played a very special show in Tokyo, Japan. The set included songs from the band’s repertoire alongside a number of Rainbow, MSG, Impellitteri and Bonnet solo classics. It was a unique show, providing an opportunity for fans in attendance to experience a number of hidden classics that covered Bonnet’s four decade plus career in the music business.

‘Live In Tokyo 2017’ can be considered a companion piece to ‘Parole Denied – Tokyo 2017’ by Alcatrazz, for which founding band members Graham Bonnet (vocals), Jimmy Waldo (keyboards) and Gary Shea (bass) had reunited after 33 years for a series of shows in Osaka, Nagoya and Tokyo in March of that year during the Graham Bonnet Band’s tour of Japan. A live CD+DVD document of this reunion was released via Frontiers in December 2018 :

Frontiers is thrilled to have performances from these bands, both fronted by the iconic Graham Bonnet, now available to fans for their listening and viewing pleasure!



1 Eyes Of The World
2 California Air
3 S.O.S.
4 Night Games
5 Stand In Line
6 Into The Night
7 Love’s No Friend
8 Dancer
9 Samurai
10 Desert Song
11 Rider
12 Since You’ve Been Gone
13 Assault Attack
14 All Night Long
15 Lost In Hollywood

16 The Crying Chair (Alternate Lyric Version)


Graham Bonnet – Vocals
Conrado Pesinato – Guitar
Beth-Ami Heavenstone – Bass
Jimmy Waldo – Keyboards
Mark Benquchea – Drums

About Louise Swift

I first went to a gig in 1981, Gillan at Leeds University. I've been a regular gig goer ever since. I haven't kept count of how many gigs I've been to over the intervening years, but it's a lot! My favourite bands are AC/DC then, in no particular order, Anti-Nowhere League, Slaughter and the Dogs, Towers of London and Dirt Box Disco. I tend to like Glam/Punk and rude offensive lyrics, not sure what that says about me but as Animal would say 'So What!' The question was recently put to me - did I write for any online publications? My reply - No, but I'd like to! Planetmosh was suggested and I found myself offering to review Aces High Festival. Easy peasy I thought! Well not quite, if a jobs worth doing it's worth doing well! I had sixteen bands to research. I found I actually enjoyed that and it kept me too busy to be making lunatic comments on Facebook! ;) Then I felt a bit inadequately qualified. I mean, who am I to comment on others, when my musical expertise extends to being able to play a mean Greensleeves on the recorder and a passable Annie's song on the flute! Haven't picked up either instrument for years! What I do have, however, is over 30 years of experience as a gig goer, so I can comment on what I like and what I don't! It's only my opinion and, if I don't like a band it doesn't mean they are bad, just not to my own liking. I admire anyone who has the guts to get up on that stage and have a go!
%d bloggers like this: