H.E.A.T. ‘Live in London’ cd review

album by:

Reviewed by:
On 14 December 2014
Last modified:14 December 2014


"Live In London" is the band’s first ever live release and truly captures them at their best.

H.E.A.T. ‘Live in London’ is a bold statement of intent, as this is a killer live album.
H.E.A.T.s most recent release ‘Tearing Down the Walls’ album, the bands 4th, is something special, it is in my top 10 albums of the year 2014. ‘Live in London’ was recorded at The Garage in London on 16th May 2014 during their first ever European headline tour.It includes 15 powerful songs, from the melodic ‘1000 Miles’ to the catchy ‘It’s All About Tonight’, the rocking ‘Breaking The Silence’ as well as their most recent single ‘A Shot At Redempetion’.


Fronted by Erik Grönwall, who really knows how to get a crowd going, while the rest of the band, Eric Rivers on guitar, Jona Tee on keyboards, Jimmy Jay on bass and Crash on drums join Erik in a tour-de-force performance that leaves the crowd breathless and wanting more. The heat was clearly on at this show, you can almost feel the sweat from the sell-out crowd as they sing -a-long to ‘Mannequin Show’ and give a thunderous welcome to Dragonforce guitarist Herman Li who joined them on stage for a stunning ramped up version of ‘In And Out Of Trouble’. The last two encore tracks are ‘Breaking The Silence’ and ‘Living On The Run’, which is a perfect song to end the night with everybody singing a long, a brilliant end to a what must have been a brilliant gig.
Mixed by Grammy award winning producer Tobias Lindell , the vocals are crisp and clear and the final mix is very well done, it almost sounds like it was recorded on an arena stage, the sound is that ‘big’. The energy the band have is infectious, and having seen H.E.A.T live three times over the last two years, this is going to stay in my cd stacker for quite a long time. So for those of you who haven’t seen the band ‘live’ this is a great introduction of why you should.
These guys could be the next global rock superstars when they finally get the stateside recognition they deserve, with their awesome riffs, harmonies and power vocals, this band is destined to go far.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

01. “Point Of No Return”heat_cover_hr
02. “A Shot At Redemption”
03. “Better Off Alone”
04. “1000 Miles”
05. “It’s All About Tonight”
06. “Inferno”
07. “The Wreckoning / Tearing Down The Walls”
08. “Mannequin Show”
09. “Late Night Lady”
10. “In And Out Of Trouble”
11. “Downtown”
12. “Enemy In Me”
13. “Emergency”
14. “Breaking The Silence”
15. “Living On The Run”


"Live In London" is the band’s first ever live release and truly captures them at their best.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at planetmosh.com. Manager of The Goddanm Electric www.thegde.co.uk, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Hammerfest.co.uk. Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.
%d bloggers like this: