Jonestown – The Erebus and the Terror E.P

EP buy.:

Reviewed by:
On August 17, 2014
Last modified:August 21, 2014


4 tracks of unnerving but satisfying metal from the twisted minds of Jonestown.

jonestownBrighton based Jonestown have created a 4 track EP which is certainly not easy listening but in a good way. Not the sort of music you have in the background but something you have to totally immerse  into the lyrics of vocalist Harley Anderson. Every lyric seems to be a release of agony and mostly delivered as a spoken word. Opening track ‘The Suffering’ runs along on abrasive thrash metal riffing courtesy of Craig Radford like an uptempo ‘Mouth For War’ by Pantera backed by a gruff, howling vocal.

The first half of  ‘We Are Animals’ is full on hardcore with some fast snare drumming from Rich Owen leading into into melodic death metal riffing, sparse drum patterns and a slower vocal as the song ends in a fierce adrenaline rush. The title track’s lyrics are bleak and cathartic, almost spoken word over down tuned intense riffing with the mood of the song enhanced by washes of synths. Final track ‘History Of A Drowning Boy’ rages along on Harley’s most tortured vocal over razor sharp Prong like guitar riffs.

Although barely a year old together, Jonestown have recently graced the New Blood stage at the prestigious Bloodstock Open Air festival, earning their place after competing at one of the Metal To The Masses competitions which in fact was their first ever gig!


Jonestown band line up :-

Harley Anderson – Vocals.

Craig Radford – Guitar.

Pete Greenhalgh – Bass guitar.

Rich Owen – Drums.


EP track listing :-

The Suffering.

We Are Animals.

The Erebus And The Terror.

History Of A Drowning Boy.

4 tracks of unnerving but satisfying metal from the twisted minds of Jonestown.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!
%d bloggers like this: