Nine Shrines – Retribution therapy

Nine Shrines

Reviewed by:
On May 5, 2019
Last modified:May 4, 2019


It's a great album tely well worth a listen.

Formed in 2014, Nine shrines released their debut EP in 2017 and it’s fair to say it went down well with metal fans with single “King of mercy” getting over a million streams on spotify. Now two years on, they’re releasing their debut album – Retribution therapy.

The album is modern metal with a bit of industrial, some metalcore and plenty of electronic sounds. That mix of sounds results in something that’s heavy, aggressive and has a lighter melodic side.
The core of the music is hard and heavy with that powerful guitar sound driving things but even there it’s still got plenty of melody. It’s when you get to songs like “Chain reaction” that the keyboards really come into play and are very prominent in the mix. The keyboards really contrast nicely with the guitar sound and add a lot to the song.

It’s a great album tely well worth a listen. Check out “Nimrod” and hear for yourself.that’s defini

Track listing:

1. Nimrod
2. Retribution therapy
3. Chain reaction
4. Ringworm
5. Happy happy
6. Dead
7. Hymn
8. Conjure
9. Pretty little psycho
10. Ghost
11. Sick like me
12. Counterfeit

It's a great album tely well worth a listen.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.