Norwegian prog outfit Seven Impale announce new album details/ Share new track

Seven Impale’s debut album, “City of the Sun”, was very well received by the prog audience over the world, and in the year poll of 2014 at, the album got ranked as the 7th best that year.

So, in spring 2016, Seven Impale teamed up again with producer Iver Sandøy (produced Enslaved, Krakow etc.) in Solslottet Studio to record the follow up.

The band has grown a lot since the debut, without loosing any of their youthful energy. New album “Contrapasso” consists of nine highly varied and complex tracks expanding upon the unique sound Seven Impale started investigating on “City of the Sun”, but….. they’ve gone much further this time.

On “Contrapasso” you find a band that are more daring, experimental and complex. Again, they touch upon the harder soundscapes as well as including more catchy and upbeat tracks, but on this album everything goes one step further.

Visiting places where no band has been before, with “Contrapasso” Seven Impale pay no heed to genre boundaries. Melding melody, experimentation, dramatics, atmosphere and contrasting rythms, with “Contrapasso”, Seven Impale has created an essential album for any fan of progressive rock! Listen to new track ‘Languor’ now:

Tormod Fosso – Bass, cello
Erlend Vottvik Olsen – Guitar
Benjamin Mekki Widerøe – Sexophone, midiflute
Stian Økland – Vocals, guitar
Håkon Vinje – Keyboards
Fredrik Mekki Widerøe – Drums, percussion

“Contrapasso” is released on 16th September via Karisma Records with the vinyl version of the album following on 28th October.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.
%d bloggers like this: