Outlaws – Dixie Highway


Reviewed by:
On February 10, 2020
Last modified:February 10, 2020


It really is a great album and one that shows Southern Rock certainly isn't dead

When it comes to Southern rock, The Outlaws are a band whose history dates back over 45 years – this is a band that counts Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Marshall Tucker band and The Allman brothers as their contemporaries. They’re best known for songs on their 1975 debut album including “There goes another love song” and their 1980 cover of the classic “(Ghost) riders in the sky”. Despite their biggest hits being quite old now the band has been around since the late 60s (except for a hiatus from 1997-2005). Since their return in 2005 they’ve recorded 2 studio albums but one was never released so “It’s about pride”, released in 2012 is their only studio release in the last 20 years. Happliy though they’re about to release a new studio album at the end of February.

The album opens with a song that sums up their attitude…”Southern rock will never die”. It’s a song that pays tribute to fallen friends including Lynyrd Skynyrd’s Ronnie Van Zant and Steve Gaines, Marshall Tucker band’s Toy and Tommy Caldwwell, Duane and Greg Allman, The Charlies Daniels band’s Taz DiGregorio and Tommy TC Crain as well as Outlaws co-founders Billy Jones, Frank O’Keefe and Hughie Thomasson. It’s a great song and a perfect opener to the album. Check it out here..

“Heavenly blues” is a re-recorded version of the song that first appeared on their 1977 album “Hurry sundown”. It’s got a new arrangement and sounds great.

“Windy city’s blues” is based on an old 1972 demo written by founding bassis Frank O’Keefe. The song had never been recorded so the band rearranged it and recorded it, keeping the original lyrics.

It really is a great album and one that shows Southern Rock certainly isn’t dead. By using a couple of old songs along side the new and having them fit in perfectly it shows the link between old and new. The songs are really strong and there are some nice guitar solos to enjoy too

“Dixie Highway” will be released on 28th February 2020.

Track listing:

1. Southern rock will never die
2. Heavenly blues
3. Dixie Highway
4. Overnight from Athens
5. Endless ride
6. Dark horse run
7. Rattlesnake road
8. Lonesome boy from Dixie
9. Showdown
10. Windy city’s blue
11. Macon memories

It really is a great album and one that shows Southern Rock certainly isn't dead

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.
%d bloggers like this: