Overkill ‘The Electric Age’ cd review.

Hard to believe that Overkill have been around since 1980, what’s even harder to believe is that this new release could quite easily trounce all their previous albums and become known as the bands finest hour.
Not only are we treated to a whopping 50 minutes playing time (which is epic for a Thrash album) but there isn’t a single weak track to be heard anywhere. The first two tracks ’Come And Get It’ and ’Electric Rattlesnake’ each weighing in at over 6 minutes each in duration and are both mind numbingly relentless in their attack on your speakers!
The vocals of Bobby ’Blitz’ Ellsworth sound as strong, no, stronger than ever, still able to belt out a scream louder than a jet engine and yet with a passion that the years have failed to diminish.
Tracks such as ’Save Yourself’ rattle along at breakneck speed but maintain balance and structure throughout, whilst the more complex ’Drop The Hammer’ ducks and dives as it changes tempo and style in musical helter-skelter mode.
This album far exceeds the heights that it’s 2010 predecessor ‘Ironbound’ set and is nothing short of an absolute triumph.

Overkill are;
Bobby ’Blitz’ Ellsworth – Lead Vocals.
Dave Linsk – Lead Guitar and Backing Vocals.
Derek ’The Skull’ Tailer – Rhythm Guitar and Backing Vocals.
D.D. Verni – Bass and Backing Vocals.
Ron Lipinski – Drums.

Track Listing;
1. Come And Get It.
2. Electric Rattlesnake.
3. Wish You Were Dead.
4. Black Daze.
5. Save Yourself.
6. Drop The Hammer.
7. 21st Century Man.
8. Old Wounds New Scars.
9. All Over But The Shouting.
10. Good Night.

Released on 30th March via Nuclear Blast Records.

About Simon Bower

Rock/Metal junkie living in beautiful Anglesey.Love live music and have a musical taste which can go from Cannibal Corpse to Kate Bush in the blink of an eye.
%d bloggers like this: