pg.lost announce details of new album ‘Versus’

pg.lost have announced details of their upcoming album, titled Versus, which will be released this September via Pelagic Records. The Swedish four piece wrote a lot of the album separately, swapping ideas online, before coming together to record at their newly purchased recording studio.

The album title Versus emerged out of a song idea, that consisted of two very different and contrasting ideas, which were never planned to be one song, but ended up complementing each other. Versus doesn’t necessarily describe a relationship between irreconcilable entities, the band explain.Gustav Almberg comments: “It is possible that some things that on the surface seem totally different could be a perfect match. But mostly the album title is a reflection of today’s society that seems to get more and more polarised. Boundaries of what is okay to say and do are constantly moved towards something that feels dehumanising, and all the fucked up idiots crawl out of their caves all the way up to the top of the mountain.”

Whilst some elements of the album will be familiar to pg.lost fans, there are some distinct differences to previous releases. The effect-saturated vocals, which were a trademark on previous pg.lost releases, have disappeared on Versus, and given way to more keys and synths. “Kristian was in the middle of heavy touring with Cult of Luna playing keys every day during that time, so he had a lot of synth-based ideas for songs. I guess this has helped us to take the band into a bit of a new direction sound wise“, comments Almberg.

Their sound is throbbing with great melancholy, but there is also an element of dirty rock n’ roll thrown in too, as demonstrated in the crushingly heavy closing section of monumental opening track Ikaros, in the distorted bass line kicking off the second track of the album, Off The Beaten Path, or in the huge roomy drum sound throughout the record.

Extensive touring is planned in support of Versus – both in Europe and further afield, aspg.lost have developed a huge fan base in Asia.

Versus will be released via Pelagic Records on 16 September 2016. Pre orders forVersus are now available via the Pelagic webstore; the album is available on vinyl, CD or as part of a vinyl and T-shirt bundle.

Versus track listing

1. Ikaros
2. Off The Beaten Path
3. Monolith
4. Versus
5. Deserter
6. Along The Edges
7. A Final Vision

pg.lost are:
Mattias Bhatt: guitar
Martin Hjertstedt: drums
Gustav Almberg: guitar
Kristian Karlsson: bass


About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.