Piston – Piston


Reviewed by:
On July 17, 2019
Last modified:July 17, 2019


high octane rock and roll with strong catchy tunes

British rock’n’roll band Piston will release their debut self-titled album in September. Before that though they’ve got an appearance at Ramblin Man festival to look forward to. Judging by the strength of this album then I’ve got no hestitation in recommending that anyone going to Ramblin Man should make time to check out Piston when they play (Sunday on the Rising stage, time TBA).

As you’ll have gathered from that introduction I think this is a great album. It kicks off with “Dynamite” which is a full on high energy rock’n’roll song that really gets the album off to a great start and is bound to go down well live.

Next up is “Rainmaker”, the first single from the album. Check it out for yourself…

“Carry me home” gives us a change of pace as it starts with quiet acoustic guitar plus vocals. It’s a lovely intro then a minute or so into the song the electric guitars and the drums kick in and boost the power of the song.

Check out “One more day”, one of my favourites on the album…

It’s a great album – well written rock songs with powerful guitar riffs, nice solos and great vocals. The lyrics are positive rather than focusssing on negative things. It’s an album that rock fans need to check out – high octane rock and roll with strong catchy tunes. I’m looking forward to catching them live.

“Piston” will be released on 13th September 2019

Track listing:

1. Dynamite
2. Rainmaker
3. Go now
4. Carry me home
5. One more day
6. Beyond repair
7. Leave if you dare
8. Blow it away
9. Let us rise
10. Into the night
Bonus tracks
11. One more day (remix)
12. Rainmaker (remix)

high octane rock and roll with strong catchy tunes

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.