Promises- Promises by Kill Choas

album by:
Kill Chaos

Reviewed by:
On January 23, 2014
Last modified:January 23, 2014


A hidden gem of an album rough and ready just my style

.@planetmosh reviews .@killchaosmusic out on

Nothing kills Chaos, not even line-up changes, this alt rock band have been hit by the line-up jinx since 2007 raising out of deceased band Hinterland.  Celebrating a decade rocking out together Darren Clewes, singing/guitar), Gavin Treliving (singing/bass recently recruited Tom Waddingham to batter the drum skins.

Boasting tours with names such as Arctic Monkeys, Reef, Frank Turner, and INME the current line-up is proving fruitful. After a gruelling 18 months hard labour they have painstakingly brought you their twelve track album Promises-Promises recorded in two studios – Axis in Doncaster and Yellow Bean in Leicester – and then mastered at Wilbraham Studios, Mansfield.

First track Boy done good has an almost punk feel with its catchy simple lyrics with some clunky bass thrown in; a sound mirrored later on in the 44sec Fists#Pistols. Each track has a raw quality which can draw comparisons from bands such as Nirvana and maybe even early Sex Pistols however they are inspired by early Biffy, Reuben, Sucioperro and Twin Atlantic and Future of the Left. Track three Falling down a  is a melodic slower paced track with a guitar riffs and infectious vocals which had me humming all day at work. Their song writing skills are displayed with thought provoking lyrics such as ‘How can you tell the truth when u can’t tell the time’to the slightly boastfull ’I’m just the best lay ever….’ on got a new drug. Theres more in lurking in the pipeline as the band are halfway through writing their next venture.  There are a lot of anthems on here a mix bag of an album. Favourite tracks, falling down, Boy done good, Satellites. Kill Chaos should be pleased as this album reflects their diverse music tastes and delivers a great all-rounder.


Line-up is Darren Clewes (vocals/guitar), Gavin Treliving (vocals/bass) and Tom Waddingham (vocals/drums)

Band bio

Track list

1                     Boy done good

2                     Crash

3                     Falling down

4                     Futures

5                     Got a new drug

6                     We came here to die

7                     Satellites

8                     Let’s play politics

9                     Make yourself a smaller target

10                 Ok on the o.k

11                 Company of one

12                 Fists#pistols

Released on Field records on November 18th


A hidden gem of an album rough and ready just my style

About lady lu

work hard play hard keep it live!!!