Prong – Age of defiance


Reviewed by:
On January 4, 2020
Last modified:January 4, 2020


It's a great EP to keep fans going till a new album is ready.

Prong released “Age of defiance”, their new EP in late 2019. The crossover metal band have been around since the late 80s and are still going strong although the lineup has changed regularly with Tommy Victor being the only member to be in the band throughout their history. In fact for a 3 piece band, the list of former members is extremely long – around 18 musicians have been in the band at one time or another and are no longer part of it.

The band released their last album in 2017 (Zero days) and with lots of tours planned it’s likely to be another year or more before they release their next album, so have decided to release this EP in the meantime to make the wait less painful for fans.

The EP contains two new tracks – “Age of defiance” and “End of sanity” plus three live tracks recorded in Berlin in 2015. The two new tracks are very different from each other, but both are great. The title track, “Age of defiance” isn’t a typical Prong track but is still a fantastic song, with plenty of power and a great groove and with a slightly dark feel. The other new song “End of sanity” has more of a trash or hardcore feel to it thanks to the guitar parts, and is probably closer to what fans expect from Prong.

It’s a great EP to keep fans going till a new album is ready.

Track listing:

1. Age of defiance
2. End of sanity
3. Rude awakening (live)
4. Another worldly device (live)
5. Cut rate (live)

It's a great EP to keep fans going till a new album is ready.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.