SAXON Re-Releases Two Classic Collections on 13th Feb


SAXON is ready to kick off 2015 with the re-release of two classic collections, each covering significant career highlights as well as offering something new in their 2015 versions.


On February 13, 2015, SAXON greatest hits release Heavy Metal Thunder will make its market re-entry together with a brand new bonus CD, Live At Bloodstock. First released in 2002, Heavy Metal Thunder features 13 bona-fide SAXON classics from the halcyon days of the early 80’s, with eight of the cuts having been re-recorded again in 2001 to offer a fresh perspective. Amazon Pre-Order


At the same time, fans will also once again be able to buy The Saxon Chronicles, a double-disc DVD which now also includes a bonus CD titled Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live. Released originally in 2003, The Saxon Chronicles is a double-DVD set which features not only the band’s 2001 Wacken performance, but original song videos, interviews and exclusive on-tour documentaries. Amazon Pre-Order


See below for tracklistings for both releases:


Heavy Metal Thunder – Bloodstock Edition:

CD I Tracklist:


01.       Heavy Metal Thunder

02.       Strong Arm of the Law

03.       Power & the Glory

04.       And the Bands played on

05.       Crusader

06.       Dallas 1PM

07.       Princess of the Night

08.       Wheels of Steel

09.       747 (Strangers in the Night)

10.       Motorcycle Man

11.       Never Surrender

12.       Denim & Leather

13.       Backs to the Wall


Bonus CD II Live at Bloodstock 2014:

01.       Sacrifice

02.       Power and the Glory

03.       Heavy Metal Thunder

04.       Battalions of Steel

05.       Motorcycle Man

06.       And the Bands Played On

07.       To Hell and Back Again

08.       747 (Strangers in the Night)

09.       Crusader

10.       Wheels of Steel

11.       Princess of the Night

12.       Denim and Leather



The Saxon Chronicles + Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live


DVD I Wacken Open Air Festival, Germany 2001 Tracklist:

01.       Motorcycle Man

02.       Dogs Of War

03.       Heavy Metal Thunder

04.       Cut Out The Disease

05.       Solid Ball Of Rock

06.       Metalhead

07.       The Eagle Has Landed

08.       Conquistador (Drum Solo)

09.       Crusader

10.       Power And The Glory

11.       Princess Of The Night

12.       Wheels Of Steel (Guitar Solo)

13.       Strong Arm Of The Law

14.       20,000 Ft.

15.       Denim And Leather


Bonus Stuff : Interview with Biff Byford


DVD II Tracklist:

Video: Saxon on Tour

Saxon Official Videos:

01.       Suzie Hold On

02.       Power And The Glory

03.       Nightmare

04.       Back On The Streets Again

05.       Rockin’ Again

06.       (Requiem) We Will Remember

07.       Unleash The Beast + Behind The Scenes

08.       Killing Ground

Saxon on TV – Interviews, History, TV-Appearances:

01.       And the Band Played On

02.       Back on the Streets

03.       Never Surrender

04.       Denim And Leather

05.       Wheels of Steel


Bonus Stuff: Text/Photo Gallery


Bonus: Rock’n’Roll Gypsies 1989 Live Audio CD Tracklist:

1.         Power And Glory

2.         And The Bands Played On

3.         Rock The Nation

4.         Dallas 1PM

5.         Broken Heroes

6.         Battle Cry

7.         Rock ‘N Roll Gypsies

8.         Northern Lady

9.         I Can’t Wait Anymore

10.       This Town Rocks

11.       The Eagle Has Landed

12.       Just Let Me Rock



For more information on these releases and SAXON in general, please visit and

About Linda Heron

London Photographer and News Editor for Planet Mosh.
%d bloggers like this: