Home / Album Reviews / Third Sovereign – Perversion Swallowing Sanity

Third Sovereign – Perversion Swallowing Sanity

album by:
Third Sovereign

Reviewed by:
On February 22, 2016
Last modified:February 22, 2016


Proficient Death Metal from India incorporating all the classic Death Metal elements with twists on a formula

Third Sovereign – Perversion Swallowing Sanity

Formed in India in 2003, death metal band Third Sovereign, certainly have their genre down to a refined art which can easily compete on the world stage. Opening with the time honoured tradition of eerie intro, the band are straight down to business with the raging ‘Grave of Humanity’. This record is flat out death metal but just below the surface there is a level of progressive leanings. Immediately the influences become blatantly clear, Vader, Decide, Morbid Angel and Gorguts are all referenced here. The guitars have razor sharp riffing, every song has multiple riff combinations which mixes the more obvious death metal elements with thrash to create something which will cross genres. Not a note is wasted, the lead work is impressive in between the twisting and turning riffs. The guitar sound is meaty and really digs into the overall good production. The vocals are more coherent than your average death metal singer, which gives the band a more distinctive edge the growls sound surprisingly individual. What is really striking is where the bass is sitting in the mix, it is up and in your face, it is unusual to hear bass so prominent and really hear the intricacy that bass carries in death metal. The drum sound is giving me real bother, as flat out as it is and technically proficient, it has been processed to within an inch of its life which at times takes away from the full impact of the band – it can be hard to not concentrate on it. Overall a solid album and one well worth investigating if you want to step outside the age old US vs Europe death metal debate.

1. Sakei Ai Hla / Grave of Humanity
2. Sarcophaga
3. Living This Hate
4. Slaughtered Mankind
5. Devolution of Mortality
6. Spawned with Guilt
7. Holocaust of Preaching
8. Dark Black
9. Burnt Epitome

Band Members

Jonah -Bass
Reuben -Drums
Vedant -Vocals
Benjamin -Guitars

Proficient Death Metal from India incorporating all the classic Death Metal elements with twists on a formula

About Dave McCallum

Old enough to know better. I have been a metalhead for a long time, I am a lifelong collector of vinyl and cds, the more the better.