Tornado – Amsterdamn Hellsinki

Tornado were formerly known as Nemesis Divina, but changed their name to avoid people wrongly assuming they were a black metal group (Nemesis Divina also being the name of an album by black metal band Satyricon).  This release is the bands first album.  The band have been described as “Slayer meets motley crue”, but I’m not sure I’d agree with that description – there is far too much variety in the music for Slayer and I cant see any resemblance to Motley Crue.  Instead, I’d describe the band as massive Anthrax fans – the whole album has a real late 1980’s era Anthrax feel to it.

“Noora” is an oddity on the album.  Barely over a minute in length, slow paced, and with female vocals, this song just feels totally out of place here.

The lyrics are intelligent and cover topics you wouldnt expect a thrash band to sing about – for instance “3 of 8” is about the damage being done to the environment by things such as oil spills, and “Priesthood pedophilia” is about the child abuse scandals within the church.

Some great complex guitar riffs and pounding drums mix with great clean style vocals to make this a great album for all thrash lovers.
Anthrax fans in particular should definitely check this album out, but the album will appeal to all old-school thrash lovers.  This is good old fashioned thrash metal but without feeling dated and is well worth a listen.

Rating 8.5/10

Tornado are..

Superstar Joey Severance – Vocals
Michiel Rutten – Guitar
Ben Varon – Guitar
Pekka Johansson – Bass
Juhana “Starvin Marvin” Karlsson – Drums

Track listing

1. A Bolt Statement
2. Hate Worldwide
3. 3 of 8
4. Massive Extinction Impact
5. Eugenics
6. Ignorance Is Thy Name
7. Noora
8. Blue
9. Priesthood Pedophilia
10. Diva
11. Tunisia Uprising
12. Rise Diciples, Rise


About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.